Georgia gun owners will have a chance to buy firearms from dealers who are licensed by the state, and they’ll be able to legally own them through the state’s law.
However, they’ll need to obtain a concealed carry permit, a prerequisite for purchasing a firearm, and the purchase will have to be for personal defense or for private use.
Georgia’s concealed carry laws have been in effect since January 2018.
Here are the basics.1.
Georgia law does not require people to be licensed to own firearms.2.
Georgia has no universal concealed carry reciprocity, meaning that you can own firearms in other states but not in Georgia.3.
It is legal to purchase and carry firearms in Georgia, even without a concealed-carry permit, and most other states allow it.4.
Georgia does not have a minimum age requirement for obtaining a concealed gun permit.5.
In 2018, Georgia became the first state to pass legislation mandating that firearms be shipped to a licensed dealer.6.
It was also the first states to pass an assault weapons ban.7.
Georgia is the only state in the U.S. that does not prohibit the carrying of firearms for personal protection in public.8.
Georgia requires all handguns to be unloaded when they’re in the home, even if the gun is loaded.9.
The Georgia Department of Public Safety does not collect data on the number of gun homicides in the state.10.
Georgia also does not permit concealed carry permits to be transferred between people.11.
Georgia doesn’t require a permit to carry concealed weapons to a restaurant.12.
Georgia residents must get a concealed weapons permit for any purpose, including the sale of ammunition.13.
Georgia gun shop owners are not required to provide customers with a firearm safety course.14.
Georgia prohibits the sale or transfer of firearms to people under age 21.15.
Georgia bans people who are mentally incompetent from possessing firearms.16.
Georgia criminal statutes include the following felony crimes: murder, aggravated assault, criminal possession of a firearm and robbery.17.
Georgia allows people convicted of certain misdemeanors to possess firearms for self-defense.18.
Georgia uses the “one victim rule” when determining whether a person has committed a crime.19.
Georgia gives judges the power to waive their criminal penalties for a person convicted of a misdemeanor offense if they have been involuntarily committed to a mental health facility.20.
Georgia makes it a crime for a convicted felon to possess a firearm or ammunition, including to carry one in a school zone.21.
Georgia imposes a $100 fine on anyone who sells a firearm that has been used to commit a felony.22.
Georgia suspends license for anyone who knowingly fails to comply with a law prohibiting the carrying, possession, or purchase of firearms.23.
Georgia places restrictions on concealed carry license applications.24.
Georgia bars people from being licensed to possess weapons for self defense in public, including school zones, a state park, and certain government buildings.25.
Georgia prevents a person from selling a firearm to a minor if that person has been convicted of an assault or domestic violence misdemeanor.26.
Georgia permits people who have been convicted or plead guilty to a misdemeanor to receive a suspended license for one year.27.
Georgia restricts the ability of an applicant to possess an assault weapon if that applicant was convicted of domestic violence.28.
Georgia applies a mandatory 24-hour waiting period for a gun sale, and those waiting periods are not subject to appeal.29.
Georgia laws also prohibit the possession of firearms by children younger than 16, and bans children under the age of 12 from having access to a firearm.30.
Georgia carries a $2,000 fine for any person who fails to provide an acceptable identification card to purchase a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer.31.
Georgia states that “no firearm shall be carried or possessed by a person under 18 years of age unless such person is an immediate family member, guardian, or custodian of such person.”32.
Georgia mandates that concealed carry licenses be issued to people who meet all other requirements.33.
Georgia offers the first “zero tolerance” for guns on college campuses, including allowing students to carry firearms on campus for self protection and banning the carrying or possession of certain firearms by people who may have mental health conditions.34.
Georgia includes gun-related crimes in its list of offenses that can be prosecuted with no penalty.35.
Georgia limits the number and types of firearms a person can legally own, and gun owners can’t have more than one firearm.36.
Georgia defines a “dangerous weapon” as a weapon that can kill or seriously injure a human being or a domestic animal, and it applies a maximum $5,000 civil fine for every firearm violation.37.
Georgia establishes a system for reporting information about gun crimes to the state crime lab.38.
Georgia takes down guns from private sales in a timely manner.39.
Georgia will allow concealed